Oct 062011

KartSport Wellington and KartSport New Zealand have confirmed Mi Sedaap instant noodles as the premier sponsor for the 2012 CIK Trophy of New Zealand event to be contested at CRC Raceway, Kaitoke, Upper Hutt between 27-29 January 2012. This event is the premier international kart event of the year and doubles as the first round of the Pro Kart series for 2012.

“We are delighted to welcome Mi Sedaap instant noodles as our premier sponsor for the CIK Trophy of NZ event in 2012” says KartSport Wellington President, Gary Wilson. “This is the third consecutive year we will be hosting this event and with Mi Sedaap instant noodles on board we know this will be a bigger and better event than previous years.”

“Mi Sedaap has supported KartSport in New Zealand for a number of years now and we are extremely grateful a large consumer brand like this continues to get behind KartSport,” Wilson says. “They will have a large presence at our track during the event and we welcome the opportunity to work in partnership with such a professional organisation.”

The 2012 CIK Trophy of New Zealand will be televised.

The KZ2 (senior 125cc, 6 speed gearbox), KF2 (senior 125cc) and KF3 (junior 125cc) classes will contest their respective CIK Trophy of New Zealand titles. KZ2, KF3 and KZ2 Masters results will also count as the first round of 2012 Pro Kart Series (a five-round series contested throughout the North Island). Also four support classes will compete for the prestigious KartSport New Zealand Challenge Cups.

Previous CIK Trophy of New Zealand winners include Wade Cunningham – 2003 CIK-FIA World Karting Champion and now an IndyCar driver, former A1GP and now leading Porsche GT3 Cup driver Jonny Reid, 2008 International Formula Master champion Chris vander Drift, 2007 World Series by Renault Eurocup 2 litre champion and former Red Bull F1 test driver Brendon Hartley, current GP3 driver Mitch Evans and rising V8 Supercar star Shane van Gisbergen.

The CIK Trophy of New Zealand is one of the premier events on the national KartSport calendar and will attract 100 plus drivers from all over the country plus competitors from Australia and USA. Australia’s Matt Wall is a double CIK Trophy of New Zealand winner (2005 and 2006).

KartSport Wellington’s CRC Raceway is located off the road to Pakuratahi Forest, State Highway 2, Kaitoke.

 Leave a Reply




You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>